Lifestyle, Music Mondays

Music Mondays: 90’s baby Playlist

Last week I found myself strolling through the music videos of the 90’s on YouTube. A wave of nostalgia hit me so in this post I’m going to share 20 of my all time favorite songs from the good ol’ late 90’s to early 00’s. Enjoy!

(In no particular order.)

  1. Let Me Know (At Your Best) – Aaliyah (1994)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Tell me what it is (Tell me what it is)                                                                                             There’s no need to make believe
Look beyond your own (Look beyond your own)
Try and find another place for me
Cause. . .

MOOD: When I listen to this song I’m completely chill. Her high voice complimented by the bass and what I think are harp notes make me calm down and just enjoy. I simply love the 90’s RnB vibes.

  1. Fallin’ – Alicia Keys (2001)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Oh, oh, I never felt this way
How do you give me so much pleasure
And cause me so much pain
Just when I think
I’ve taken more than would a fool
I start fallin’ back in love with you

MOOD: There is no Alicia without a piano. When I listen to this song I feel like I’m walking the streets of the Bronx, while bobbing my head. The harmonies are simply perfect with the choir at the end that rounds all up.

  1. My All – Mariah Carey (1997)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

‘Cause I’ve drowned in you
And I won’t pull through
Without you by my side

MOOD: Since I’ve seen the music video I always imagine myself laying in place of Mariah with my hair open acting all sensual like I’m the one singing the song, the beautiful guitar notes make it even worse (well they heavily add to the feeling). The soft rhythm in the background puts me in trance and for a second I’m Mariah Carey.

  1. Sumthin’ Sumthin’ – Maxwell (1996)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Even though she pays me no attention
All I wanna show is my affection
Lose myself inside her ebony
But she ain’t even checkin’ me so

MOOD: The drums at the beginning are a nice introduction followed by the smooth voice of Maxwell. This song has this typical chill 90’s Rnb vibe, which I love. Another chill song for the evening. I imagine a loft somewhere in a big city at night with some candles lit and this song playing in the back on a record player with me expressively dancing in the living room.

  1. I’m Not A Girl Not Yet A Woman – Britney Spears (2001)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

I’m not a girl
Not yet a woman
All I need is time
A moment that is mine
While I’m in between
I’m not a girl

MOOD: I feel l a lot of young teen girls can relate to this song. Britney was going through a stage mostly all teen girls go through at one point of their life that is also why I love it so much. I imagine myself as Britney in the music video for this song. Standing at the edge of the cliff fearlessly, wondering what life brings next.

  1. Don’t Speak – No Doubt (1996)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

This could be the end
It looks as though you’re letting go
And if it’s real
Well I don’t want to know

MOOD: I tend to listen to sad music when I’m sad and frustrated myself. Parting with someone you love and admire is hard.

  1. Everywhere – Michelle Branch (2001)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

I recognize the way you make me feel
It’s hard to think that
You might not be real
I sense it now, the water’s getting deep
I try to wash the pain away from me

MOOD: The electronic guitar gives off a slight aggressive vibe. Michelle makes me feel like I’m heavily crushing on a random guy in a band but I don’t know if he is crushing on me too.

  1. Goodbye To You – Michelle Branch (2000)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

And when the stars fall
I will lie awake
You’re my shooting star

MOOD: In this scenario, a boy broke my heart and I feel like I lost a huge part my life and now I have to learn to let go, because there is no way we both can go on pretending like this is working, he keeps on lying so I have to let him go, even though it hurts because I love him.

  1. Miss Independent – Kelly Clarkson (2003)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Miss independent
Miss self-sufficient
Miss keep your distance
Miss unafraid
Miss out of my way

MOOD: I’ve always been a quite independent girl. I feel this song perfectly describes a huge part of my personality and that’s why I love it so much, not to mention the super hype chorus that makes me jump around my room. Kelly Clarkson has the perfect voice for this song.

  1. Kiss Me – Sixpence Non The Richer (1997)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Oh, kiss me beneath the milky twilight
Lead me out on the moonlit floor
Lift your open hand
Strike up the band and make the fireflies dance
Silver moon’s sparkling
So kiss me

MOOD: A concept, it’s my birthday evening and the boy I crush on covered my eyes to lead me into a hidden garden where my friends and family are waiting. He uncovers my eyes and I see a giant tree decorated with thousands of lights my friends shout happy birthday and there is a long table full of snack and a small birthday cake. We are all laughing and at the end I’m dancing with my crush to finally kissing him at the end of this song.

  1. There She Goes – Sixpence Non The Richer (1997)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

There she goes
There she goes again
She calls my name,
Pulls my train
No one else could heal my pain
And I just can’t contain
This feeling that remains

MOOD: I imagine a party and everyone around me is popping pills. I’m tempted but don’t dare touch any. I ask myself does it really help with the pain?

  1. Almost Lover – A Fine Frenzy (2007)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Your fingertips across my skin
The palm trees swaying in the wind
Images
You sang me Spanish lullabies
The sweetest sadness in your eyes
Clever trick

MOOD: This song makes me feel like I’m deeply hurt by an Argentinian boy. I’m sitting in my room on my bed, the morning light breaks perfectly through the huge window in front me. The atmosphere is comfortably cold. I look at my room through a vintage filter. I reminisce…

  1. Torn – Natalie Imbruglia (1997)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

I’m all out of faith
This is how I feel
I’m cold and I am shamed
Lying naked on the floor

MOOD: When I listen to this song I act like I was in a never meant to be relationship. It makes me feel a little angry. I believed in something that was never there. I tried everything to save us, but the illusion never changed. I counted on a man that didn’t even know himself so now I’m quite frankly TORN.

  1. Ironic – Alanis Morissette (1995)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Mr. Play It Safe was afraid to fly
He packed his suitcase and kissed his kids good-bye
He waited his whole damn life to take that flight
And as the plane crashed down he thought
“Well, isn’t this nice.”
And isn’t it ironic, l don’t you think

MOOD: Like the song suggests, it makes me laugh about the irony of life. Taking chances when they come and not waiting for the perfect time because there is no perfect time and tomorrow is not promised. With my brush in my hand I sing and jump along to the catchy chorus.

  1. White Houses – Vanessa Carlton (2004)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

My first time hard to explain
Rush of blood and a little bit of pain                                                                                                   On a cloudy day it’s more common than you think
He’s my first mistake

MOOD: Every time I listen to this song I just imagine the music video while dancing around my apartment. The songs a typical coming off age song, with a upbeat tempo, a lot of metaphors and hidden messages.

  1. I’m With You– Avril Lavigne (2002)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

I’m standin’ on the bridge
I’m waitin’ in the dark
I thought that you’d be here by now
There’s nothing but the rain
No footsteps on the ground
I’m listening but there’s no sound

MOOD: Probably like a lot of other teens I too had an Avril Lavigne fan period. This teen song is for the rainy days when one feels lonely. Imagine it’s night, only a few street lights are still flickering, it’s cold raining outside and you are theatrically looking out of your rooms window. That’s the vibe I get from this song.

  1. You’re Still The One – Shania Twain (1997)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

I’m so glad we made it
Look how far we’ve come my baby

MOOD: The music video to this song perfectly describes the mood.

  1. Ka-Ching! – Shania Twain (2002)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

We live in a greedy little world,
That teaches every little boy and girl
To earn as much as they can possibly,
Then turn around and
Spend it foolishly

MOOD: The lyrics to this song are perfect. Covered under a catchy instrumental, Shania enlightens us about the capitalistic mentality we all tend to adopt. I imagine performing the song on a huge stage. At the beginning, all the dancers and performers are dressed in office wear with an old telephone in front of them and they’re acting like there are taking calls. Then I start to sing and they jump up to dance; fake dollar notes raining unto the stage. I’m wearing an expensive looking red dress and my hair is styled into a beehive. Nearly at the end my performers are dancing a waltz and when the music stops everything goes back to the starting point.

  1. Breakaway – Kelly Clarkson (2004)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

Trying hard to reach out
But when I tried to speak out
Felt like no one could hear me
Wanted to belong here
But something felt so wrong here
So I pray
I could breakaway

MOOD: This must be one of my favorite song by Kelly Clarkson. Every time I listen to it I feel like I can do anything I set my mind to. I want to dare, chase my dreams and BREAKAWAY.

  1. Creep – TLC (1996)

FAVORITE QUOTE:

If he knew the things I did, he couldn’t handle me.
And I choose to keep him protected, oh.
So I creep, yeah, just creepin’ on,

MOOD: This song is not really empowering but it has a nice chill vibe to it.

 

Of course these aren’t the only ones I’m listening to, but enough to give you a little taste.

Don’t forget to share and follow if you liked this post and leave a comment down below. What are your top 5 90’s and early 00’s songs?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

